Skip to content

wiksten tank dress

April 3, 2011

I am in full dressmaking swing again! After making the tova dress I was totally hooked on Jenny’s patterns so I went ahead and bought her tank top/dress pattern as well.
I ordered some beautiful fabric for it but it was taking a while to ship and when I found this lovely gray woven cotton locally I had to use it to make the dress.

I really really like how this turned out! It’s a simple dress but it will be great to wear in summer on its own and also as a layering piece the rest of the year.
The pattern is (again) so very well written and I didn’t have any trouble with the instructions at all. The pattern uses french seams which is great for me because I don’t have a serger. It looks so nice from the inside as well!

I must say it took longer than I thought it would to make it, mainly because there is a lot of pinning and pressing and topstitching and putting it together requires a lot of concentration (for the inexperienced sewer like me at least!). I had to take breaks in between doing the seam finishes and the fabric was a little shifty, so the finish on the inside is not as neat as I would like. I’ve seen this done impeccably by others and I am really wondering how they did it. Practice makes perfect I guess.

The fit (I made the extra small) is perfect (again) and this will get a lot of wear I am sure!

I actually wanted to wear grey tights with this but both my pairs had holes in them so I opted for a pair of dark jeans. I really want to get some funky leggings to go with it though.

The plaid scarf was an impromptu friday night sewing project and I am working on a tutorial for it, hope to have it up soon. Jenny’s patterns are really addictive, I predict a summer full of tank top and dress sewing for me :)

18 Comments leave one →
  1. April 3, 2011 2:24 pm

    So cute! Can’t wait to see what other outfits you make.

    • tidytipsy permalink*
      April 4, 2011 5:22 am

      Thanks Lynda :) I can’t wait to get started, but finding the time will be difficult! I have my eye on the long Easter weekend for sewing ;)

  2. April 5, 2011 1:24 pm

    I LOVE it! It looks fantastic. Now I’m thinking I might have to work on my sewing skills…

    • tidytipsy permalink*
      April 6, 2011 5:20 am

      Thanks Sherrie :) See, there you have another thing to do in your 30th year! I can really recommend those patterns, they have very clear instructions.

  3. April 9, 2011 10:14 pm

    ah! so cute! i love it, it is a wonderful staple element to anyones wardrobe!!!

    xo

    • tidytipsy permalink*
      April 10, 2011 6:07 am

      Thank you!! I know, this pattern is so versatile and the grey literally goes with anything and everything :))

  4. April 10, 2011 1:10 pm

    I think you did it – making me get my Christmas present out of the still unopened box (a sewing machine…) and try to make a beautiful dress, too. It doesn’t look to difficult … hopefully. On my way over to Jenny’s to have a look at the patterns!

    • tidytipsy permalink*
      April 11, 2011 5:31 am

      Oh yes, do! I don’t know if you already have sewing experience but if you’re new to it I would suggest you do some practice stuff first…pillows, lavender sachets, something like that. Just to get the hang of things and to acquaint yourself with how the machine works. Then you’ll have it so much easier tackling something like a dress and it will be a lot more fun to make :))

  5. May 5, 2011 6:16 pm

    Hi!! you have a lovely blog! I was thinking: I should or I shouldn’t but a wiksten pattern. Because the shipping is expensive for me, but as I seen your blog and your wonderful dress I must buy the tova pattern! thanks for sharing!

    • tidytipsy permalink*
      May 6, 2011 5:33 am

      Neus, thank you! I am in Germany, so the shipping was expensive for me too, but I am having such a lot of fun with these patterns, it was well worth it!

  6. May 6, 2011 9:53 am

    After seeing your nice creations, I’ve bought the two patterns too! My economy it isn’t now for wasting money, but I think as you said it’s going to be a good value for money! Thanks again, hugs from Barcelona!

    • tidytipsy permalink*
      May 8, 2011 6:29 am

      Congratulations on your purchase, you’ll be sewing wonderful garments with them :)) Let me know when you’ve sewn something from them, I’d love to see it!

  7. Samantha permalink
    July 6, 2011 12:13 am

    Do the instructions cost? I love this drss and want to make one but I can’t buy it! Please help!

    • tidytipsy permalink*
      July 6, 2011 5:09 am

      Hi Samantha, yep, Jenny from Wiksten sells them in her shop. I don’t think she has any patterns available now but maybe she’ll sell some more later this year. Sorry :/

  8. March 14, 2012 4:58 pm

    Your tank turned out great. I’ve been coveting the pattern for so long, but it was quite pricey for my budget with the shipping and everything. Now I’m so happy she has it as an e-pattern. Yay!

  9. June 10, 2012 12:54 am

    Simple and elegant. It almost looks like denim, love it!

Trackbacks

  1. What to Wear (DIY Edition) | papernstitch
  2. crotch + wrinkles = crinkles | redleadkitty

Leave a comment