Skip to content

photo shoot by the creek

July 19, 2010

I am very lucky to have friends spontaneous enough to jump into a cold creek so I can take photos:


Sundays seem to be the days for impromptu photo shoots around here. I am loving the look of these, almost 1940ish to me. Isn’t she stunning?

My favourite, maybe my favourite image ever taken.

The light down at the creek was very tricky and I found myself wishing I had taken my Olympus OM2…film would probably have been better in dealing with it than digital.

This is almost an outtake, but one that I really love:

Thanks Dana, I really hope you didn’t catch cold and are fit for our next adventure, old school western camp next weekend ;)

12 Comments leave one →
  1. July 19, 2010 5:59 am

    these are amazinggggggggg. i wish i had a friend that would do this for me. I would do it for my friends. common! purr fect

    • tidytipsy permalink*
      July 19, 2010 5:51 pm

      Thanks Desiree :) Tell your friends they get cool photos out of it, maybe they’ll do it then ;)

  2. July 19, 2010 12:53 pm

    That reminds me of years ago when a friend of mine dressed me up in a 20s dress and took be downtown on First Street where she shot me in front of these beautiful old houses. She gave me her high heels to wear since I never wore (and still don’t) wear heels. My dad loved these pictures so much that he wanted several of them. Maybe they reminded him of Mom. I don’t know but they were interesting and I had so much fun. I’m usually behind the camera so it was a big change. I’ll have to dig those out and take a look. Love her red dress. Girl friend you are so good. I can’t tell you that enough.

    • tidytipsy permalink*
      July 19, 2010 5:53 pm

      Thanks Lynda! Do dig for those photos, I would LOVE to see them, they sound awesome!!

  3. July 19, 2010 3:07 pm

    love the light in those photos! and Dana looks fantastic!

    • tidytipsy permalink*
      July 19, 2010 5:53 pm

      Thanks RosaMaria :) The light was tricky but it works well in black and white with the strong contrasts I think.

  4. Dana permalink
    July 19, 2010 4:22 pm

    Hey :-) Thank you all! The pictures are very nice and it wasn’t much cold in the water. I’m not ill yet ;-)
    Best wishes
    Dana

    • tidytipsy permalink*
      July 19, 2010 5:57 pm

      Don’t let her fool you, it was cold enough that I couldn’t stand in it with my bare feet while I was shooting because it would really hurt my feet ;) But then again, I’m such a baby when it comes to cold ;)

  5. July 19, 2010 5:07 pm

    Those are lovely, and spontaneity is always wonderful. What a blessed pal
    : )

  6. adefinlay permalink
    August 7, 2010 10:21 pm

    A lovely series of shot. The first has a lovely atmospheric feel.

Leave a comment