Skip to content

red button down skirt

February 17, 2013

Finally, some sewing again and it’s not even navy blue!
red skirt. tidytipsy
A bright red skirt which has been in the works for nearly two months! Phew. It’s based on the same pattern as the blue pencil skirt, but I wanted to add a button placket at the front.
I first procrastinated on actually drafting the pattern and when I finally did, I made many stupid mistakes…I redrafted and sewed the skirt up pretty quickly and it was looking really neat when I realized I had miscalculated the button placket and the skirt was now way too tight. So I ripped the placket out again and got creative in adding a new placket without having to redo the whole skirt (I was out of fabric for that anyway). Add a little time between each step to stew over it and get my motivation back up and you have two months of work on a simple skirt. At least now it fits!
red skirt. tidytipsy
It even has pretty buttons and button holes and is fully lined (don’t get me started on how many times I messed up the lining).
red skirt. tidytipsy
I think I’ve worked on it too long to determine if I like it. I’m sure some of you know that feeling. I’ll see how I feel about it in three months. That sounds depressing, I promise to be more upbeat in my next post :)
The necklace I’m wearing is by Native Clutter on Etsy btw.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. February 17, 2013 2:34 pm

    Kristina, I know what you mean but in a couple months from now you will love it! It’s really pretty and looks great on you. You are so talented!

  2. February 17, 2013 3:19 pm

    Kristina this looks great! You worked so hard – but I bet that is exactly what’s going to make you knowledgeable at patternmaking after learning from your mistakes. I need to be more brave like you! I’m always too afraid to veer away from pre-made patterns.

    • Kristina permalink*
      February 18, 2013 6:53 am

      Thanks Lauren :) You know what? Everytime I’ve drafted something it never goes the way I plan it and at the end of it I promise myself to stick with pre-made patterns from now on to spare me all that work and frustration! But I can’t help myself I guess :))

  3. February 17, 2013 4:54 pm

    Ooooh this looks so good! I love red skirts and the buttons on this are fab! You did an amazing job!

  4. February 17, 2013 5:48 pm

    It’s beautiful and fits great! You’ll love it soon.

  5. February 17, 2013 6:09 pm

    Love the skirt! It’s such a beautiful color and fits you perfectly. I know what you mean though about working too long on something then being unsure. It’s fabulous. Wear it. I also love your blue skirt and blazer! Those are great pieces.

    Thanks for the link! That was really sweet of you. I’m glad you like your necklace!

    • Kristina permalink*
      February 18, 2013 6:53 am

      Thanks Stephanie :)) I love the necklace, I wear it all the time!

  6. February 17, 2013 7:42 pm

    Nice, I wish there was a class near me, that I could take to learn how to do make my own clothes!

    • Kristina permalink*
      February 18, 2013 6:54 am

      Google is your friend! There’s lots of online resources to get you started :))

  7. February 17, 2013 9:40 pm

    It looks amazing! And it obviously fits in well with your wardrobe because you’ve styled it so well.

    The fabric looks so rich! What is the content??

    • Kristina permalink*
      February 18, 2013 6:54 am

      Thanks Nettie :)) It’s cotton flannel!

  8. Kristina permalink*
    February 18, 2013 6:55 am

    Thanks so much for all your comments :)

  9. February 19, 2013 2:30 am

    I totally understand. I usually need to take a break from my projects once I’ve finished them to know how I really feel. But as for MY feelings on the skirt, I love it! I love the red, the buttons, the fit. It’s beautiful.

  10. February 19, 2013 12:26 pm

    It looks prefect and fully lined!! wow! I like the color block, I’m sure that you’re going to wear your new skirt a lot!!

  11. Kristina permalink*
    February 20, 2013 6:52 am

    Thanks Lindsay and Neus! The skirt is getting so much love, I’m getting convinced :))

  12. February 27, 2013 8:00 am

    I too think the skirt looks perfect – so I’m impressed. I’m glad other folk out there who sew mess up measuring stuff too :)

    • Kristina permalink*
      February 28, 2013 6:02 am

      Thanks :)) Ha, I sometimes feel I mess up more often than I get things right! All part of the learning process I guess.

Leave a comment